Thanks & Shares


Dear readers, the gringa would like to share the news that my dear reader, Xena, of the blog “We Hold These Truths To Be Self Evident” has nominated the gringa for a peer award known as the Versatile Blogger Award. The gringa is very honored by this touching acknowledgement of my blogging efforts. Thank you so much, Xena, you have no idea what this means to me and the incredible timeliness of your generosity.

As a peer award it is designed to inspire reciprocal support among bloggers. Sometimes writing for the sheer joy of writing or to promote a worthy cause is a labor of love that goes financially uncompensated. However, the gringa feels that the compensation of recognition to be of greater value and significance. I am incredibly grateful. Such a thing couldn’t have come at a more critical moment in my life as a blogger.

The gringa’s dear caveman has been recovering from surgery. It will be some time before he can go back to work and even then it will be light duty only. This has meant the gringa has had to devote more time to earning dollars with words. In moments of weakness the demands on my time have made me consider the possibility of skipping a post from time to time. I would stiffen my spine and stay the course. Now I know I made the right decision.

When the gringa checked her notifications and saw the message from Xena, the caveman and I were at a family function after a particularly difficult 2-3 days during his recovery. We were both terribly drained. The gringa burst into tears, too exhausted to care about composure, when I read the message. Glasses of wine and beer were raised all round when everyone realized they were tears of joy!

The conditions of the award require that I share some personal things about myself as well as nominate 15 other bloggers. So, although the gringa’s dear readers know plenty of personal stuff about me because I am quite the blabber mouth, here are 7 more gems:

  1. While camping with my grandparents when I was 5 years old, I caught my face on fire  with a flaming marshmallow, an omen of the mishaps and mayhem which would be my personal trademark in life.
  2. 5 years later I broke my arm, my nose and my chin (yes, my chin) when I escaped solitary confinement at my grandparent’s house one summer by stealing a bike and going off on adventures, not knowing the bike had no brakes and getting back home to grandma’s house was all downhill.
  3. I had a boulder the size of an old Selectric II typewriter kicked off a cliff that landed on my head & knocked me unconscious when I was rock-climbing with friends. Luckily I had adhered to other safety measures & was lowered to safety by my trusty harness (too bad about the helmet I opted out of because of my ponytail). I was lucky to survive the resulting concussion as I threw up on and off for the 3 days it took to hike back to civilization.
  4. I broke my breastbone playing paintball when I fell in a 3-4’ deep ditch hidden by tall prairie grasses, landing with the butt of my gun’s air bottle rammed into my chest. I lay there for about an hour thinking I was going to die until my teammates finally found me.
  5. I got a black eye flipping the mattress when it bounced up and the corner caught me in the eye. No one at work believed me and thought the caveman had socked me one.
  6. I decided to give my oldest son a lesson in responsibility by teaching him to change the oil in his car despite the fact that I had never done it (we were trusting YouTube). I had a claustrophobic freak-out under his truck and he had to drag me out by my heels. Who knew staring at the undercarriage of a vehicle could be so scary? Mechanics are freakin’ superheroes!
  7. Twice I traveled outside the country on a whim when invited by people I hardly knew. Contrary to popular opinion formed by popular crime shows about such a thing, the gringa didn’t end up murdered. Instead I had life-changing experiences that changed me for the better through the amazing people I met and the incredible things I learned. So, despite traditional wisdom, I have always talked to strangers and sometimes travel to strange places with them. And if there are such things as Guardian Angels, mine should get an award as well for all the demands my shenanigans must create.

The nominees I have selected have all been dear to the gringa in one way or another. Although all the gringa’s dear readers are loyal and supportive, there are those who offer curious comments that amuse me or pique my interest. Some I admire for their own unique talents. Then there are those whose words tend to describe something I feel or have experienced, creating a strong personal connection. I especially find joy in bloggers who have a passion for a cause that touches my heart. The gringa hates to leave anyone out and wishes it were allowed to nominate every blogger I appreciate. So, I am so sorry if your name is not on the list. Please don’t feel bad. You are still appreciated. Anyone who gives the gringa the time of day by perusing my words is a person I am truly grateful for.

  1. Writings From My 14th Country
  2. Barsetshire Diaries
  3. Flying Solo: Confessions of a self-published author
  4. Opher’s World
  5. Random Life Thoughts
  6. Susan on the Soapbox
  7. Philatelie et Collections du Jacquemard
  8. Leonard Durso
  9. First Night Design
  10. Croatia, the War, and the Future
  11. Believe in Yourself
  12. Paul Militaru
  13. Send Sunshine
  14. Read Between the Minds
  15. I didn’t have my glasses on

Click on the link for more info on the VBA

 

Published by

gringaofthebarrio

A barrio gringa with a dream of cosmic proportions: writing to satiate my insatiable curiosity, worldwide literacy beginning with our youth, and to be the first barrio gringa to explore outer space!

7 thoughts on “Thanks & Shares”

  1. Congratulations and heartfelt thanks. My days wouldn’t be the same without Gringa updates and in-depth posts on just about everything under the sun… and without her great sense of humour and humanity. I’m tremendously honoured by her nomination, and looking forward to visiting all my co-nominees’s blogs too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations Gringa! And thank you for including me on this list. You’re one of the most versatile bloggers and most adventurous people I know. Given that list of “7 personal gems” it’s a miracle you’re still alive. All the very best to you and all the co-nominees over the Christmas season and into the New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

